She’s Not There – 2018 John Gassner award recipient

Ali MacLean’s play She’s Not There is the 2018 John Gassner playwriting award recipient.

The John Gassner Memorial playwriting award fosters new playwrights and scripts through this important competition established by Molly Gassner, wife of theatre historian, John Gassner. The award was created in 1967 to honor the late John Gassner for his lifetime dedication to all aspects of professional and academic theatre.

Other playwrights previously honored with a Gassner award include: Tina Howe, Annie Baker, David Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Lauren Yee, Ayad Akhtar, Gina Ginofriddo, David Auburn, Lauren Gunderson, and Kenneth Lonergan.

The winning script will be given a staged reading at the New England theater conference in October.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s